How To Sell A Gun In Michigan
Selling a gun in Michigan requires knowledge of the State’s laws to ensure you’re in compliance and don’t make any mistakes. The State of Michigan has numerous laws concerning the ownership, transfer, and the carrying of firearms. If you’re considering selling a gun to another individual, make sure you’re up to speed with the laws that regulate transfers to ensure you’re in compliance and not breaking any laws. In comparison to other states, Michigan provides a good amount of freedoms for gun owners, but it has strict regulations when it comes to handguns.
Private Party Sales/Purchases Require a Permit
Selling Handguns in Michigan
Michigan allows for private party transfers of firearms, however there are some additional restrictions for handguns. If you’re selling a handgun, Michigan requires a “Purchase Permit” to purchase or sell a handgun to a private party. A Purchase Permit is obtained from local law enforcement which contains three copies of the license for each party to keep for their records. The buyer and seller must both sign the license and may each keep one copy for his or her records. The buyer must return the other copy to their local law enforcement within 10 days of purchasing the handgun. A License to Purchase a Handgun is valid for 30 days. Some agencies require all unused license-to-purchase forms to be returned to them for record-keeping purposes.
Selling Long Guns in Michigan
The laws for buying long guns is a bit simpler. To buy/sell a long gun, you must:
- Be 18 or older;
- Provide ID; and
- Have a background check done by a licensed firearms dealer.
There is no License to Purchase like with handguns when dealing with private sales. Of course, all other requirement also apply to long guns.
In Michigan there are also certain conditions that prevent you from owning a firearm.
You are prohibited from owning a firearm if you:
- Have been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for over a year;
- Are a fugitive from justice;
- Illegally abuse controlled substances;
- Have been adjudicated as mentally defective of incompetent, or have been committed to a mental institution;
- Are an illegal resident of the United States;
- Are a former US citizen who has renounced his citizenship;
- Were dishonorably discharged from the US Armed Forces;
- Are subject to a restraining order;
- Were convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
Save the Hassle, Sell your Gun to CashForGuns.com
If navigating Michigan’s gun laws seems overwhelming, there’s a better way to sell a gun in Michigan!
You can easily and legally sell your Handgun, Long gun to CashForGuns.com and be 100% compliant with Michigan gun laws.
We hold a Federal Firearms License and a retail shop specializing in helping people with buying, selling and transferring of firearms. We take care of the hard part and make the process safe, quick and hassle-free. The reality is you can sell your gun without leaving the house.
Just tell us about the firearm or firearms you’d like to sell and we’ll make you an offer. Once we agree upon a price; you will be provided with a shipping label to ship your guns to us. When we receive your gun(s) you paid.
Cash For Guns will give you some amazing benefits!
Fair price for your gun
Easy shipment tracking throughout the whole process
Begin our safe, discrete and legal process here.